top of page

More Mako, Please

To every person who’s known me since 2013, I’m so sorry for what you’re about to read. If you knew me then, you definitely heard me talk about Pacific Rim in high detail. For people who met me after that time, congratulations, you’re about to have an experience.

With, Pacific Rim: Uprising in the works, it’s time for me to visit one of my cult favorites. Originally, I was going to talk about what makes this movie so good, but I figured it’s time to be a critical adult and write a piece actually arguing something instead of word vomiting out a 600-word opinion. Here’s my plea: We need more characters like Mako Mori.

GIF credit to lunadiego on Tumblr. Pacific Rim is property of Warner Brothers.

Mako Mori (Rinko Kikuchi) enters the movie like an angel, umbrella tipping up in the rain to look at Raleigh (Charlie Hunnam) to greet him to the last Jaegar program station. Mako is in charge of picking Raleigh’s drift partner and is finally able to see his worth. It’s obvious that Mako herself will eventually become Raleigh’s partner, but what’s a Hollywood movie, if not a little cheesy and suspenseful?

Mako’s ability and drive makes her the perfect candidate to be the newest Jaegar pilot, however, her history is what is holding her back. Eventually, she overcomes these issues and is able to save the world with Raleigh. Kikuchi is playing a 19 year old but during the filming of the movie, Kikuchi was 30, which is disheartening, but for once I’m going to try and shut up about casting and ages. What’s so effective about Mako is that she’s a realistic character. Since I was a nineteen when the film came out, I found myself instantly loving her and wishing I could be like her.

When Raleigh is testing with possible partners, Ms. Mori is always making uninterested faces and notes to the point where Raleigh comments on it and demands to spar with her. Nobody calls Mako a bitch for smartly replying that there is a faster way for Raleigh to take down his opponents. Throughout the whole movie, Mako is looked at as an equal, which is incredibly refreshing for somebody who felt like they were old enough for responsibility but was too afraid to be called something rude. Throughout the whole scene, there’s banter and she’s excited to show her abilities.

Her backstory is also woven into the movie realistically. So many movies make characters have a tragic backstory but there are no repercussions during the story besides, “Oh, I gotta be strong and brave because I hate my dad.” Mako suffers in so many ways as she overcomes her past. When she first tests her partnership with Raleigh, Mako begins to dwell on her past, making her go essentially into a PTSD flashback. After a few tense moments, Mako is able to come back, but is clearly shaken and almost loses her opportunity to become a professional Jaegar pilot. During her flashback, Mako finds herself almost in a nonverbal state and having issues speaking in languages other than her native language of Japanese. Pacific Rim, like in real life, shows there are repercussions to being a hero, making Mako’s character so much more realistic.

Warner Brothers

Finally, towards the end, when Gipsy Danger is taking on two different kaijus at the same time, and the pair uses a really awesome sword, Mako tributes the kill to her family which is probably the most satisfying moment in the movie. She still has grudges to work out and her circumstances are something she’s still coming to terms with and I love her, plain and simple. Also, I was so incredibly thankful the movie didn’t end with Mako and Raleigh kissing each other. I felt like in that moment I gained ten years to my life.

Yea, Pacific Rim is cheesy as all hell and really predictable but it’s a comfort movie that has some really great characters. Overall, Mako Mori is a model character people who should strive to write and should want to write. God knows I do.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page